FRIB-TA Summer School: Quantum Computing and Nuclear Few- and Many-Body Problems

Facility for Rare Isotope Beams

Facility for Rare Isotope Beams

640 S. Shaw Lane, East Lansing, MI 48824

The FRIB-TA Summer School: Quantum Computing and Nuclear Few- and Many-Body Problems will be held at the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) on the campus of Michigan State University (MSU) in East Lansing, MI USA.

Scientific rationale: Recent developments in quantum information systems and technologies offer the possibility to address some of the most challenging large-scale problems in science, whether they are represented by complicated interacting quantum mechanical systems or classical systems. The last years have seen a rapid and exciting development in algorithms and quantum hardware. 

The emphasis of this summer school is to highlight, through a series of lectures and hands-on exercises and practice sessions, how quantum computing algorithms can be used to study nuclear few- and many-body problems of relevance for low-energy nuclear physics.  And how quantum computing algorithms can aid in studying systems with increasingly many more degrees of freedom compared with more classical few- and many-body methods.

Several quantum algorithms for solving quantum-mechanical few- and many-particle problems will be discussed.  The lectures will start with the basic ideas of quantum computing. Thereafter, through examples from nuclear physics, we will elucidate how different quantum algorithms can be used to study these systems. The results from various quantum computing algorithms will be compared to standard methods like full configuration interaction theory, field theories on the lattice, in-medium similarity renormalization group  and coupled cluster theories. 

Website for the school with teaching material and schedule

The Summer School is organized by the FRIB Theory Alliance. For selected participants we hope to provide partial support which may include lodging and meals. After registration has closed you will be contacted with the support we are able to provide. We will not provide support for transportation expenses.

  • Abhishek Kodumagulla
  • Alejandro Salas
  • Alexandra Semposki
  • Alexei Bazavov
  • Andrea Shindler
  • Avik Sarkar
  • Bailey Knight
  • Benjamin Hall
  • Boyao Zhu
  • Brandon Henke
  • Daniel Hoying
  • Danny Jammooa
  • David Kekejian
  • Dean Lee
  • Debora Mroczek
  • Dong Bai
  • Even Marius Nordhagen
  • Feng Wu
  • Francesca Bonaiti
  • Hao Liu
  • Heiko Hergert
  • Huey-Wen Lin
  • Ian Cordeiro
  • Jacob Crawford
  • Jacob Watkins
  • Jaideep Singh
  • Jane Kim
  • Jared Weidman
  • Jingyi Li
  • Joey Bonitati
  • Jordan Purcell
  • Jose Mendoza
  • Junzhe Liu
  • Kang Yu
  • Kyle Godbey
  • Linus Ekstrøm
  • Mahmoud Tarek Khalaf Elewa
  • Manqoba Hlatshwayo
  • Matthew Hirn
  • Mengyao Huang
  • Mohammadreza Hadizadeh
  • Morten Hjorth-Jensen
  • Mostafa Ali
  • Nanxi Yao
  • Neill Warrington
  • Nicholas Cariello
  • Nick Abboud
  • Nicki Mullins
  • Nicolas Clarisse
  • Oliver Gorton
  • Pablo Giuliani
  • Patrick Carzon
  • Patrick Cook
  • Paul-Aymeric McRae
  • Philip Niane
  • Pooja Siwach
  • Roy Salinas
  • Ruoyu Cheng
  • Ryan LaRose
  • Scott Bogner
  • Sheng Lee
  • Simin Wang
  • Son Nguyen
  • Surender Surender
  • Taylor Whitehead
  • Tianyu Yang
  • Weijie Du
  • Wu Yiwen
  • Yumu Yang
  • Zhengrong Qian
  • Zhouyou Fan
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now